Dominion Day

On July 1st, 1867 the four British colonies of Upper and Lower Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick came together to form a brand new country. Canada has since grown to include 10 provinces and 3 territories, each with their own varied history and culture, but the tradition of celebrating the anniversary of Canada’s birth has remained.

These annual celebrations, officially known as Dominion Day from 1879 until 1982, were at first quite small, but by 1900 most communities were coming together to celebrate Canada’s birthday.

Explore how settler communities like Prince George marked this special occasion over 100 years ago with Huble Homestead Historic Site’s “Parades of Patriotism” exhibit. Created in 2017 to commemorate the 150th anniversary of confederation, the exhibit looks at the forces that created Canada and how its formation was celebrated in our country’s early years. View the exhibit online here.

To celebrate Canada Day with Huble Homestead in person, visit the historic site between June 29 and July 3 to explore the park and our vast country. Pick up your passport and some Canada swag when you arrive and then journey to find the stations to fill out your passport with fun facts about each province and territory. When you’re finished, collect your prize at the General Store!